• Welcome to Randomland - The Forum. Please login or sign up.

May 04, 2024, 08:14 PM

News:

Get Out, See Green!

Blade Sharpening

Started by Cody, Apr 07, 2011, 12:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cody

So, with the purchase (finally after some emailing) and shipping of my sword, I thought it would be a good idea to buy a quality sharpening stone. Odds are I will never have the heart or need to use it on the sword being as it is supposedly a limited edition collectible. But! I was thinking...I own quite a few bladed objects as do most of the people I know. It seemed like a good idea to take a gander at the ol' Amazon and see what they had. I managed to find a Japanese water stone for about $30. From what I read those things are supposed to be pretty awesome if you know how to use them.

Getting to that point...I have very little experience with sharpening stones, but I guess that takes practice. Should anyone else have the urge to sharpen their knives to a hair splitting precision edge feel free to come over and try it. When it gets here of course.
"Stop whining. Before you really get me irritated."
   --Boba Fett

zourtney

I'd like to at least like to know how to kind-of-properly sharpen the knives I have. My favorite kitchen knife, by far, gets the most practical use. It's be a good candidate. Let me know when you get a method down :)

Cody

Unfortunately it won't be here until Friday, but I suppose that is okay. It gives me more time to practice on the stone I already have.
   --Boba Fett

Nick

You are all welcome to give my Harbor Freight diamond-powder sharpening block a try (4  sided!) As well as the Lansky dealy that I have. Not sure the Lansky would worn on larger blades... it won't even work well on the cheap knife I got off Amazon (it seems to have a strange angle on the cutting-edge, so I use the diamond one) However, the Lansky does do an awesome job on the pocket knives I have.

Cody